In 1995, the 19th century Whitehaven Hotel was saved from the wrecking ball through the cooperative efforts of local residents, the Maryland Historic Trust and by those captivated by its charming location in a riverfront Eastern Shore village at the Whitehaven Ferry, minutes from the Chesapeake Bay. The Hotel, now one of the last of its kind, provided lodging for travelers crossing the Wicomico by horse to Quantico, Salisbury and Princess Anne and by steamship to ports as far as Baltimore.
The Hotel is nestled on the shore of the Wicomico River and is about 25 minutes outside Salisbury, Maryland. Other Eastern Shore attractions such as Ocean City, Chincoteague Island and the Assateague National Seashore are also short drives away.
The Hotel has eight guest rooms. All Hotel rooms have private baths, two have access to the second floor screened porch and two have working fireplaces. Room with a View, a gift shop offering one-of-a kind, hand made Eastern Shore crafts, is open on the first floor of the Hotel.
The dining room dates back to the 1890 addition and is decorated in high Victorian style with Bradbury & Bradbury willow wallpaper. Cindy serves a gourmet breakfast in this beautiful room.
The piano room was the dining room in the original road house. The moldings are original hand cut. The working fireplace boasts the original reeded mantle. The room looks out over the river. Guests may relax here with a glass of wine and afternoon snack.
The South Porch overlooks the Wicomico River. It is a great place to relax and see a variety of birds, including osprey, herons, egrets, and other wildlife. Or, you can watch the river traffic go by.
Copyright © 2020 Whitehaven Heritage Association, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.
Website Designed by Whitehaven Heritage Association Inc.
Powered by GoDaddy Website Builder